After getting into a car accident, you will have to consider how you will pay for the damages. From property damage expenses to medical bills, it can be overwhelming to ascertain how you will make payments. However, this is why insurance requirements exist. In Michigan, there are certain minimum requirements you must meet with your car insurance. Furthermore, there are consequences to not meeting these requirements.
What Are Michigan’s Minimum Requirements?
Did you know? As a Michigan resident, it is a requirement to have car insurance coverage prior to registering a vehicle. There is a baseline of coverage that you must have, which is broken down below:
- $50,000: Coverage for bodily injury.
- $100,000: Maximum coverage per incident.
- $10,000: Coverage for another person’s property damages.
Within this cost breakdown, there are two different liability coverages. Those are property damage and bodily injury. In the event that you damage another individual’s property or cause injuries, these types of coverage will help safeguard your assets and cover the necessary legal expenses. This is why it is crucial to have insurance in place.
Are There Other Types of Coverage?
Yes. There are additional types of coverage that go above and beyond Michigan’s required minimum. Furthermore, you should consider adding these coverages to your policy so that you can be even more insured on the road.
Comprehensive coverage is a type of auto insurance that can provide repairs to your vehicle in the event that damages occur from a non-collision-related incident.
Collision coverage helps provide repairs to damages from a collision with another vehicle or object. Within this, there are both broad and limited coverages. These will apply depending on the circumstances of the incident.
Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage helps protect individuals in the event that they are in an accident where the at-fault party does not carry insurance, or they are underinsured.
What Happens When You Don’t Have Insurance?
When you are driving without insurance or underinsured in Michigan, you can face various penalties or fines. While upfront monthly premiums may be high, the consequences of not paying these premiums outweigh those costs. Beyond fines, you may also face a license suspension of up to thirty days. Furthermore, you will have to find out how to cover potential damages without insurance, which can involve high costs.
Car Accident Attorneys in Pontiac, Michigan
Were you recently in an accident with an uninsured party or you do not have coverage in place? It is vital to seek out legal representation when getting into a car accident to ensure that you are taking the correct steps. The team at Bashore Green Law Group is here to help with your personal injury case.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, call us today at (248) 487-1887 or fill out our form online for a free consultation.